My Psychology Research Origin Story

S&S Prompt: Psychology

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
Published in
2 min readApr 18, 2021

--

Photo by Soragrit Wongsa on Unsplash

Of the silly questions I get
about my graduate degree
here are the top few:
Can you read my mind?
Will you agree with me that
we are all a little bit “crazy”?
Did you start studying psychology
to psychoanalyze yourself and your past?

To that last one,
I constantly have to say no.

I have to explain
that psychology as a field
encompasses more than Freud,
branching deep and wide
into the social realm
looking at interactions between humans
at a larger scale,

to investigating human cognition
by comparing it to animal cognition
in comparative cognition and psychology

to the intersection
between mind and body
in a myriad of ways
including but not limited to
how biological rhythms
that cyclically occur
influence how we think, feel, experience.

--

--

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她)
Science & Soul

Filling in the cracks on conflicting self improvement advice and translating how these can work for a more diverse audience ✨ Icon by: @jkbarts #WEOC writer.