Why did I buy a Nintendo 3ds in 2023?

Billeh Scego
STE{A}M
Published in
3 min readDec 4, 2023
“Views and 3ds” by Me

The date was September 5, 2023 and I saw an amazing deal on facebook marketpace for $80, that I could not pass up on since they typically go for $180. Before this purchase I have been interested in getting a 3ds for a while but a lot of things were holding me back one of which was the Switch. The major reasoning for this move was because of the closure of the Nintendo e-shop which now prevents users to purchase games digitally.

Do to this decrease of supply I know that prices will go up in the future and they already have, so I wanted to build my collections before the demand increases.

The truth behind our HUGE 3DS collection…

Dan and Elisa from JRPG Life on Youtube has been an excellent resource to learn about 3ds collecting. They are a couple that makes videos about building their game collection. They are a big reason why I wanted to build my own collection and due to not playing the games when they are current I have a whole new world to explore.

I have been purchasing games that I find. GameStop has been a place that I have gone to purchase most of my 3ds games but I have also found amazing deal on FB marketplace.

Let me know what games I should check out?

An Exhaustive Look at Pokémon Omega Ruby

I love retrospective video analyzing games, this video by Shoogles, was a big motivator in me first purchasing a Pokemon game from this era of consoles.

I am currently playing Pokemon Omega Ruby. I have always been a fan of gen 3 games since Pokemon Sapphire was the first Pokemon game that I really played. The reason why this is the first game I am playing on the system was when I was a child I always wanted Ruby but it was out of stock so I “settled” (I thought Groudon looked cooler but I have grown to love Kyogre do to how great it is in vgc).

I plan to write an article cataloging my library for it and creating a list of games that I will play. Unlike JRPG Life, I do not plan to have the whole North American Library but I welcome you in this journey and keeping the hardware/software alive.

If you’re contemplating the idea of purchasing a Nintendo 3DS, it’s worth diving into the array of options available among its multiple models. Understanding the nuances between these variations can significantly enhance your overall experience. I came across an incredibly insightful video created by Tech140 that meticulously dissects the specifications and features of these models. Watching this video could offer invaluable insights into finding the perfect fit for your preferences and gaming needs, ensuring your investment aligns perfectly with what you’re seeking in a Nintendo 3DS.

Which 3DS Should You Get in 2023?

Check out other articles related to Nintendo:

--

--