You need a Mentor

Shivang Ganjoo
ScienceforData
Published in
2 min readFeb 6, 2019

Find one early on in your career. Legends like Sachin Tendulkar and Pele, all had mentors. You need a mentor in every stage of your life. I’ve a few mentors as well, parents — we all know what value they bring to us, my first cousin is my mentor for all things finance, George Williams for data science and some others as well.

Source: Strategic Finance

Mistakes most of us make

When I started, someone suggested me Andrew NG’s Machine Learning course. Without any background in stats, probability, and knowing limited calculus and linear algebra, I started that course. Intuitively understood everything but couldn’t figure out the math part. This was the reason I couldn’t complete assignments on my own. The only positive thing I did was not wasting my parents money for a certificate I didn’t deserve. Many of us do this and call ourselves prodigies.

Source: Kate Nasser

How I got some direction?

Reading stories on Medium and other blogs gave me a some direction that to be a data scientist your math must be strong. So I started learning topics from here and there. I ended up learning a lot but without any direction on how much coding to learn, what topics to cover etc, I wasted a lot of time and effort. Sometimes I focused too much on deploying the model whereas I should have spent time improving it. I also used to showcase tutorial projects as my own. I realized my mistakes when I started interacting and making mentor-aspirant relationships. People like George Williams have a massive impact on my career. From foolish doubts to advice they have answered it all. I have to say my path to becoming a data scientist got clearer. With the right direction, I have understood what is data science and how to go about things. This is a field where you are always learning and growing, every new project presents a new challenge. So you must have a mentor.

--

--