ATTACK: Unity

When a fire starts to burn

Zayyan Ahmed
SCIFI ATTACK
3 min readFeb 14, 2014

--

Right.

And it starts to swell.

Right.

You gotta bring that attitude home.

THE YEAR IS 9999,

WE ARE ALL MONKEYS NO MORE

Part 1:

A tiny little flesh unit called Johannes X987 gingerly made his way towards the observatory.

This wasn’t my preferred method of transport, and as I went through the human locomotion— motions, I was hit with a wave of nausea.

It was all so very distracting, the labored breathing, the elevated heart rate, and the janky action of the unit’s spindly limbs.

I could only imagine what this unit was built for and why it was parked so close to the observatory sector. This type of unit was ill suited to the gleaming expanses and 3-D movement axis of the observatory superstructure.

A grimace formed upon Johannes’ face as I began to dread the laborious process of walking on to a conveyor and manually navigating the massive complex. If it was built in more civilized times I could simply ghost into it and get what I needed right then and there, but alas the vestiges of the past must always harry us.

So, Johannes climbed. The rocky hill leading to the observatory emitted strong antigrav fields, rendering the sputtery little cruiser that this pitiful character woke up with less than useful.

Though cut off from populous sectors by distance and environmental hazards, the observatories were further enchanted with many arcane spells meant to discourage and dissuade the interloper.

These countermeasures were of course not very sophisticated for a uni-being such as myself, serving only to keep away the more simple minded macro-beings and heaven forbid, human beings that might blunder by. But still, the circumstances of my plight and the feeling of inhabiting Johannes X987 reminded me of a time so far gone, a time where my cunning was untested and my weaknesses were manifold. It was rather refreshing, even though I was beginning to get a feeling that this frail, fleshy unit was used more for carnal pleasure rather than more worldly pursuits.

‘His’ memory was wiped, and it was hard to tell just who had been here before. There were many viruses in this cerebrum, in fact, a lesser being would have been completely overtaken by the fear, apathy, and lust that pervaded this unit’s subconcious.

But I digressed, ahead of me— of Johannes X987, stood the gleaming observatory of the 3rd millennia, my last hope for some answers on this particular riddle.

Want MOAR attacks from the infinite universe and real deal hard hitting science fiction?

GOTO

https://medium.com/scifi-attack

&

https://medium.com/science-fiction-society

--

--