Google Summer of Code: OpenMF Week 3

Swapnal Shahil
SCoRe Lab
Published in
3 min readJun 27, 2021
Google Summer of Code with SCoRe Lab: Week 3

Hey! I am back with another update on Google Summer of Code. In this blog, I am sharing my work which I did in the third week of the coding period. In case if you haven't seen my proposal here is a link for that — My-GSoC-Proposal.

This week I worked on the extraction of EXIF data from images and location data from an android device. If you don't know about EXIF don't worry! 😉 EXIF stands for Exchangeable image file format and refers to the basic metadata that is generated and stored by your camera or device whenever you take a photo. In simple word whenever you click a photo some data get embedded within your image and include pieces of information like date when it was taken, date if modified with any software, software id, a location where the pic was clicked, time, description, bucket id, bucket name, album, tags, width, height and many more. Even when you share a pic on any social platform or share by email or Google photos this data remain within your image 🤔 and anyone who knows these things can extract these informations from your photo. Don't worry your data is safe if you share pics on Facebook, WhatsApp, Instagram, and Twitter as these sites remove the Exif data before the images are shown to others. 😏

Data from Images

Later I worked on the location part where I found some difficulties in encryption and decryption of gmm_storage.db which contains all the searched locations and navigation history you did on google maps. I successfully able to extract saved location data but I find difficulties in extracting searched location. This part is under review by my mentor as we are searching if there is some special encoding for this database or not.

Saved location Data

My coming week will be more or less same as the previous one with full of challenges and learnings. I will be working on the analytics part and try to complete it within the week. I will keep updating you about my work through these blogs.

Till then if you haven’t read my previous blog here is a link for that: Google Summer of Code: OpenMF Week 2. 😊😀

See you soon!!😊

Github: swapnalshahil 👈

LinkedIn: swapnalshahil 🤘

Instagram: eulersgamma 😃

--

--

Swapnal Shahil
SCoRe Lab

GSoC’22 Mentor || GSoC’21 @SCoReLab || B.Tech at IIT Guwahati'23