Google Summer of Code: OpenMF Week 6

Swapnal Shahil
SCoRe Lab
Published in
3 min readJul 18, 2021
Google Summer of Code with SCoRe Lab: Week 6

Hey everyone! I am back with another update on Google Summer of Code. In this blog, I will be sharing information on the first evaluations and my work done in the sixth week of the coding period. In case if you haven’t seen my proposal till now 😀✌ here is a link for that — My-GSoC-Proposal.

📝First evaluation

I am really happy to share that I successfully passed my first evaluation with positive feedback from my mentor. Evaluation is very important to move further with the project as it evaluates the progress and workflow to provides an opportunity to correct course and address underlying issues. Most importantly, it provides a structure in which to give valuable criticism and praise to the students. I am thankful to my mentor Shivanshu Raj Shrivastava for his continuous guidance on me.

Coming back to my sixth-week work. This week, I worked on the analytics to filter the cases by creating API and implementing my third, fourth, fifth, and sixth week work on the OpenMF front end.

In the front end, I have to communicate with several APIs on different components of the project. So for that, I used Redux for the state management which is a predictable state container designed to help you write JavaScript apps that behave consistently across client, server, and native environments and are easy to test.😅

In React it is mostly used as a state management tool, you can use it with any other JavaScript framework or library. State management??🤔 State management is essentially a way to facilitate communication and sharing of data across components. It creates a tangible data structure to represent the state of your app that you can read from and write to.

There are three building parts in Redux: actions, store, and reducers.

  1. Actions in Redux: Actions are the only way you can send data from your application to your Redux store. The data can be from user interactions, API calls, or even form submissions. They are plain JavaScript objects, and they must have a type property to indicate the type of action to be carried out. They must also have a payload that contains the information that should be worked on by the action.
  2. Reducers in Redux: Reducers are pure functions that take the current state of an application, perform an action, and return a new state. These states are stored as objects, and they specify how the state of an application changes in response to an action sent to the store.
  3. Store in Redux: Store holds simply the application state.
Screenshot while working 😂

Implementing these are completely new to me which is the beauty of an open-source project.😎 You get to learn many things on this journey. I will highly recommend readers get involved in open source and motivate their friends too.

My coming week is also full of new challenges as I have to work a lot on the analytics part of this project. I will try my best to complete it as per my timeline and will keep updating you about my work through these blogs. So keep reading, sharing, and supporting. 😊

Till then if you haven’t read my previous blog here is a link for that: Google Summer of Code: OpenMF Week 5. 😊😀

See you soon!!😊

Github: swapnalshahil 👈

LinkedIn: swapnalshahil 🤘

Instagram: eulersgamma 😃

--

--

Swapnal Shahil
SCoRe Lab

GSoC’22 Mentor || GSoC’21 @SCoReLab || B.Tech at IIT Guwahati'23