GSoC 2020 with SCoRe Lab — Week 12

Nipuna Weerasekara
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readAug 13, 2020
Photo by Ryan Hutton on Unsplash

tl;drThis is the thirteenth article of my journey into the Google Summer of Code with SCoRe Lab. Here I discuss the week twelve (27th to 31st of July) of my GSoC experience.

Evaluations week here we go (again),

It was the evaluation week again. This time it was the evaluations part II. After the first evaluation, we are all were looking forward to this evaluation part II. Since we had a tight schedule before the evaluation week, I had to work on the CodeLabz with extra love. So my fellow developer and I, we both worked and finished our targets before the evaluations.

Currently, in our CodeLabz platform, a user can create a tutorial, and view the tutorial. It is really awesome that we came this far 😁. Now a user can also list their tutorials too. In a tutorial, the user can collaborate with other users who are in the same organization, to create a tutorial and edit its steps in real-time. Our real-time collaborative text editing feature is really awesome and we are really proud of it 😊.

In the coming weeks, we are planning to add some maintenance tasks for our platform, which will run periodically. The problem is how to do this without our intervention. (In other words, how to automate this process of maintenance).

Currently, there is one thing that comes to mind, the Cloud Pub/Sub from Google with the help of Cloud functions for Firebase.

This is a good article to refer to if you are interested in creating Cloud Pub/Sub triggers with Cloud Functions.

So in the coming weeks, I will be implementing these features in our application. So until we meet again, happy coding. (Oh, I almost forget to mention, I passed the evaluations II. Yay! 🤣)

--

--

Nipuna Weerasekara
SCoRe Lab

I am a web developer turned security researcher. Find me on niweera.com