GSoC 2020 with SCoRe Lab — Week 13

Nipuna Weerasekara
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readAug 12, 2020

tl;drThis is the fourteenth article of my journey into the Google Summer of Code with SCoRe Lab. Here I discuss the week thirteen (3rd to 9th of August) of my GSoC experience.

After the evaluations II

After the evaluations II week, I resumed the development works in the CodeLabz platform. As I discussed in my previous post, I had to implement the automatic maintenance for the CodeLabz platform. As I mentioned, I used Google Cloud Pub/Sub for automating the maintenance tasks.

With the use of Google Cloud Pub/Sub, I created an automatic trigger every seven days and, every seven days a Cloud Function for Firebase will be activated and it will do all the maintenance tasks that we intend to do manually and by ourselves. It is really awesome that we don’t have to stress ourselves to check for inactive users, scheduled deletes, etc. 😁

The above was a good reference on how Google Cloud Pub/Sub works. It helped me to get the necessary knowledge about Google Cloud Pub/Sub to implement the necessary functions for our CodeLabz platform.

In the coming weeks, I will be working on the CodeLabz platform where I will be developing the tutorials edit features and releasing public tutorials. Since we only have two more weeks to go, I am really excited to publish our work to the entire world 😊. So, until we meet again, happy coding…

--

--

Nipuna Weerasekara
SCoRe Lab

I am a web developer turned security researcher. Find me on niweera.com