GSoC 2020 with SCoRe Lab — Week 8

Nipuna Weerasekara
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readJul 10, 2020

tl;drThis is the ninth article of my journey into the Google Summer of Code with SCoRe Lab. Here I discuss the week eight (29th of June to 5th of July) of my GSoC experience.

Evaluations week here we go,

It was the evaluation week. After weeks of designing, developing, and reading about developing 😁 evaluations week came. I was a little bit stressed out about the evaluations. As I have discussed in the previous blog, it was a tight schedule we had to finish up before the evaluations week came up. So my fellow developer and I worked and finished up our targets before the evaluations.

Currently, in our CodeLabz platform, a user can sign up, log in, and create organizations (as much as they want). Also, they can edit their organization profile, update the organization profile image, etc. Besides, we added the full-text search feature for the organization user search function. With all of these summing up, we hit the target and it was a big relief for us.

Well, the evaluations week was a fun week of course. I think it was one of the toughest weeks of my life since I had to fill out the evaluations and wait for my results. In the evaluation period, I was looking into some testing frameworks since it was time to learn about them.

I’ll share what I have found so far.

Mocha is the first go to testing framework for JavaScript for any developer. So I looked into that. It was easy and fun to use it (Fun when the test cases are passing of course 😂).

Then I looked into,

Chai assertion library. It is a useful library and it can be integrated with the Mocha library too.

Finally, I checked a testing framework called Cypress.

Cypress is an end-to-end testing framework for JavaScript and it can be used instead of Selenium. (How cool is that?).

So after checking all of these libraries, I choose the winner and I decided to go with Cypress. So in the coming weeks, I will be using Cypress to test our coding. So until we meet again, happy coding. (Oh, one thing I forgot to mention, I passed the evaluations. YAY! 😁)

--

--

Nipuna Weerasekara
SCoRe Lab

I am a web developer turned security researcher. Find me on niweera.com