GSoC 2020 with SCoRe Lab — Week 9

Nipuna Weerasekara
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readJul 14, 2020
Photo by Jack Anstey on Unsplash

tl;drThis is the tenth article of my journey into the Google Summer of Code with SCoRe Lab. Here I discuss the week nine (6th to 12th of July) of my GSoC experience.

After the evaluations

After the evaluation week, I resumed the development works in the CodeLabz platform. Like my mentors, my fellow developer and I discussed what to do next in the CodeLabz development, I started on working the development of user profile edit and view functions. With the features in user profile edit, a user can edit their profile settings, their profile image and view the updated user profile data on their profile view.

The next to develop in CodeLabz is to add features to create tutorials for the organizations. For this, we discussed how to add the tutorial edit features. In the brainstorming session, we had several methods to add the tutorial edit feature. One is to create a Markdown editor and update the backend when the user makes an edit. With this, the user can view and edit the tutorial in Markdown format easily. However, the issue with this is real-time edit functionality. To build the real-time functionality, we need to add additional handlers in the Markdown editor.

CodiMD to the rescue

CodiMD is an open-source platform for collaborative markdown notes. With this, the users can edit markdown notes collaboratively and in real-time. We have set-up the CodiMD server on our local development environment and tried its features and it fits our needs. However, there is a slight issue in user authentication and user permission management with this platform. In the coming weeks, we will be working on how to address these issues and integrate CodiMD to our CodeLabz platform. So, until we meet again, happy coding…

--

--

Nipuna Weerasekara
SCoRe Lab

I am a web developer turned security researcher. Find me on niweera.com