GSoC’21: Application testing aspects

Maanas Talwar
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readAug 1, 2021

--

During the seventh week, my mentors and I discussed the next steps for the project. In this phase, I will be majorly working on developing a test suite for the application. This will help in maintaining the application and facilitating the CI/CD process for the same. I will also be working on refactoring the application code along with minor upgrades to the application.

I have decided to use the unittest testing framework to test each functional component of the application independently. It supports test automation, sharing setup and shutdown code for tests, aggregation of tests into collections, and independence of the tests from the reporting framework.

This week I explored this framework and would like to share my findings for the same. The framework supports various components in an object-oriented fashion like test fixtures, test cases, and test runners.

Test Fixture
It represents the preparation needed to perform one or more tests, and any associated cleanup actions. This may involve, for example, creating temporary or proxy databases, directories, or starting a server process.

Test Case
It is the individual unit of testing. It checks for a specific response to a particular set of inputs.

Test Suite
It is a collection of test cases, test suites, or both. It is used to aggregate tests that should be executed together.

Test Runner
It is a component that orchestrates the execution of tests and provides the outcome to the user. The runner may use a graphical interface, a textual interface, or return a special value to indicate the results of executing the tests.

Next up

For the upcoming week, I will divide the application into major chunks and start developing the test suites for the same. I will also be fixing a rendering bug that I encountered during regular testing of the application.

Stay tuned for further updates :)

Project: Scan8

Feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn and follow me on GitHub.

--

--

Maanas Talwar
SCoRe Lab

maanas-talwar.github.io | Microsoft SWE Intern'22 | GSoC'22 Mentor | GSoC'21 | Senior @ NSUT