GSoC’21: Coding Phase fifth week

Sarthak Singh
SCoRe Lab

--

During my fifth week of the coding phase, I have worked on settling up the scan8 architecture by using busy box images (as advised) but instead, I used multiple separate images (reason discussed below).

So I have performed this dummying process on my computer which is running windows 10. So I have worked on Kubernetes with the help of docker-desktop. I have to implement the Nodeport Service, Headless service and HPA. I tried running busy box containers in coordinator pod and slave pods but the issue with this approach is I cannot test if the Nodeport service is working fine or not and when I looked up the IP of slave containers using busy box container, the container is not able to fetch the IPs. So when I looked upon the internet, I realised that maybe this issue is because of the network layer and I kind of stuck in it.

So I have used multiple different containers, which shows that my written services are working perfectly fine. My dummy implementation architecture looks like this.

My dummy architecture works as follows:-

  1. The request comes to the Nodeport service and it is directed towards the Nginx container running in the Coordinator pod which is listening on port 80 and it displays the Nginx default page. This shows that my Nodeport service is working fine.
  2. Then, I exec into the alpine container for testing of headless service and run the command “nslookup slave-headless” where slave headless is my headless service name. The output of this command is the IPs of all the slave pods. This shows that my Headless service is working fine.

I have not used Nginx container to test the headless service because Nginx container does not include the command such as nslookup, ping etc which I can use to test the services and some errors were encountered when I tried to install the packages. So instead I have used a separate alpine container to test the services.

Blockers

I am confused with how to test HPA on the slave pods, So mentors are currently reviewing my PR and they will tell me the process of testing HPA.

Coming up

In the coming week, there will be our first evaluation of GSoC (fingers crossed) and apart from that, I will be working on testing HPA on slave pods and improving the dummy architecture.

Stay tuned for further updates and feel free to connect with me on Linkedin if you have any doubts, feedbacks or even otherwise!

Join the GITTER channel of Scan8 for more insights into the project.

--

--