GSoC’21: Coding Phase Seventh Week

Sarthak Singh
SCoRe Lab

--

I hope you all are doing good! I am writing this blog to share my Seventh week of the coding phase in GSoC’21.

As discussed in the previous blog I have to create two separate docker images for the Scan8 applications which are:-

  1. Dashboard+Coordinator:- This contains code for the User interface and Coordinator node which enqueue the task in the Redis queue.
  2. Worker:- This contains code for the worker node.

But the issue is these entities are so closely packed and I am not able to produce separate docker images and this issue is resolved by creating another module called Utilities which will help to decouple the application and Dashboard and Coordinator can work separately which fulfills our purpose.

After the issue is resolved, I started working on the task to create images that were completed in a short period of time.

Then I started working on creating separate services which are Redis service which functions as a queue and MongoDB which stores information about the previous scans, completed scans, etc.

After creating this whole service mesh, I started working on creating PV and attaching PV(Persistent Volume) to the Dashboard+Coordinator pod and worker pod. For that, I have first created PVC which is Persistent Volume Claim as the name suggests it claims the memory from the node, and whichever pod uses that PVC can get the Persistent Volume.

This week's goal is completed and I have didn't face any blockers for the week.

Coming up

In the coming week, I will be working on creating HPA and helm charts for the Scan8 project. Stay tuned for further updates and feel free to connect with me on Linkedin if you have any doubts, feedbacks, or even otherwise!

Join the GITTER channel of Scan8 for more insights into the project.

--

--