GSoC’21: Developing the test suite

Maanas Talwar
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readAug 10, 2021

--

During the ninth week of the coding phase, I was involved in setting up the environment for the unittest framework for Python and developing the test suite for the application. A test suite helps in maintaining the application and facilitating the CI/CD process for the same.

I had decided to use the unittest testing framework to test each functional component of the application independently. It supports test automation, sharing setup and shutdown code for tests, aggregating tests into collections, and independence of the tests from the reporting framework.

This week I developed some test cases for various operations. This includes unit tests for checking the availability of Uploads and Results directories, checking the MongoDB database for entries, and using that data for verifying uploaded files.

During development, I opened pull requests for various issues and learned a lot from my mentors along the way.

Next up

For the upcoming week, I will be working on more unit tests and documenting the whole project in the form of a GitHub page. I will also be moving forward with my final report for the project.

Stay tuned for further updates :)

Project: Scan8

Feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn and follow me on GitHub.

--

--

Maanas Talwar
SCoRe Lab

maanas-talwar.github.io | Microsoft SWE Intern'22 | GSoC'22 Mentor | GSoC'21 | Senior @ NSUT