GSoC’21: Refactoring code and formalizing unit tests

Maanas Talwar
SCoRe Lab
Published in
1 min readAug 10, 2021

--

During the eighth week of the coding phase, I was involved in refactoring the code for better maintainability and finalizing the aspects for which I will be writing the unit tests. The unit tests are an excellent way to maintain the application in a continuous implementation and deployment pipeline.

I organized all the scripts used by different types of nodes in a single utility module. This eases the process of creating Docker images as a shared module can be introduced in both the Coordinator and Worker node Docker images.

This week, I also dived deep into the unittest testing framework for Python and formalized the unit tests I will be working on from the following week. I also fixed a minor rendering bug I encountered in the frontend dashboard.

During development, I opened pull requests for various issues and learned a lot from my mentors along the way.

Next up

For the next week, I have planned to move forward with implementing the unit tests that I have thought of this week.

Stay tuned for further updates :)

Project: Scan8

Feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn and follow me on GitHub.

--

--

Maanas Talwar
SCoRe Lab

maanas-talwar.github.io | Microsoft SWE Intern'22 | GSoC'22 Mentor | GSoC'21 | Senior @ NSUT