GSoC’21: Scan8 server-side operations cont.

Maanas Talwar
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readJun 27, 2021

--

During the third week of the coding phase, I stored the uploaded files to the server and generated their metadata.

First off, a module generates and assigns a unique ID to the uploads. This ID is used to differentiate and manage all the processes wrt the scan. Next, the files are saved to an appropriate directory.

Subsequently, the module generates metadata for the uploads, ranging from the submission time to the number and size of files. Finally, this information is compiled and updated into the MongoDB collection as a new document.

During development, I opened pull requests for various issues and learned more about industry-standard programming practices from my mentors.

Next up

For the following week, I will connect the Redis Queue to the coordinator node and its module to listen to updates in the MongoDB collections. These updates will trigger a response to add the scan jobs to the Redis Queue.

I will also create an RQ job to run the ClamAV scan on each file and update the database for completion status.

Stay tuned for further updates :)

Project: Scan8

Feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn and check out my GitHub profile.

--

--

Maanas Talwar
SCoRe Lab

maanas-talwar.github.io | Microsoft SWE Intern'22 | GSoC'22 Mentor | GSoC'21 | Senior @ NSUT