GSoC’21: Scan8 test suite and documentation

Maanas Talwar
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readAug 15, 2021

--

During the tenth week of the coding phase, I was involved in implementing further unit tests to improve the application’s test suite. I also worked on some demo videos for the application and detailed documentation with a GitHub page.

I added different unit tests to verify the results. These included checking the contents for a valid JSON structure and the number of result files generated for a particular scan.

I also documented the significant aspects of the application to help users as well as developers. The local setup and usage guide helps users understand how to get the application up and running from scratch. In contrast, the testing guide helps developers test their improved features for a release while contributing to the project.

The extensive documentation for the project can be found on the project GitHub page.

Following are the videos for the project demo:

I also completed the project report for my application this week.

During the GSoC period, I opened multiple pull requests for various issues and learned a lot from my mentors along the way.

Next up

This week forward, I will help maintain the project. I will also continue contributing and helping fellow members of the community with issues.
After all that the community has taught me, I will try my best to give as much back to the community as possible!

Project: Scan8

Feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn and follow me on GitHub.

--

--

Maanas Talwar
SCoRe Lab

maanas-talwar.github.io | Microsoft SWE Intern'22 | GSoC'22 Mentor | GSoC'21 | Senior @ NSUT