GSoC’21: Scan8 user interface

Maanas Talwar
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readJun 13, 2021

--

In the first week of the coding phase, I started working on the user interface for the Scan8 application. The responsive web interface facilitates uploading files for new scans and tracking the status of all the submitted scans.

I used the Flask micro web framework to handle different routes and requests. Flask uses the Jinja template library to render templates. Flask back-end was then coupled with HTML templates to display the relevant information to the user. The responsive interface is developed using HTML templates for the layout and Bootstrap CSS framework for styling.

During the course of development, I closed multiple issues through pull requests. In addition, my mentors actively shared their feedback on my work along the way, helping improve its quality.

Next up

I have decided to start making this developed user interface functional from the next week onwards.

Here, I plan to implement a feature to accept the files being uploaded to the server and design a schema for each scan entry in the MongoDB database. I also intend to set up a MongoDB server and connect it to this flask application to exchange information between the front-end and database.

Stay tuned for further updates :)

Project: Scan8

Feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn and check out my GitHub profile.

--

--

Maanas Talwar
SCoRe Lab

maanas-talwar.github.io | Microsoft SWE Intern'22 | GSoC'22 Mentor | GSoC'21 | Senior @ NSUT