GSoC’21: Scan8 worker node

Maanas Talwar
SCoRe Lab
2 min readJul 16, 2021

--

During the fifth week of the coding phase, I was involved in upgrading the coordinator node and working on the worker node of the application. I also added a local setup guide to the README to ease the usage.

First off, I enabled and set up the Redis Queue timeout and resubmit features. Job timeout refers to the minimum amount of time a worker executes a job before treating it as failed. Resubmission refers to retrying the jobs that failed during execution and are added enqueued again in the Redis Queue.

I also worked on a python script to run the RQ worker on all the worker nodes. The coordinator node in the cluster runs a separate script that I worked on in the last week. I also worked on storing the scan results as JSONs.

This week I also added a local setup guide to the README to help others use this project. It includes the dependencies to run the project along with a step-by-step tutorial.

During development, I opened pull requests for various issues and learned a lot from my mentors along the way.

Next up

Henceforth, I have decided to start refactoring and documenting the code. This will make the project easy to use and contribute to by other interested developers.

Stay tuned for further updates :)

Project: Scan8

Feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn and check out my GitHub profile.

--

--

Maanas Talwar
SCoRe Lab

maanas-talwar.github.io | Microsoft SWE Intern'22 | GSoC'22 Mentor | GSoC'21 | Senior @ NSUT