Journey into GSoC — Part 1

Omal Vindula
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readMay 20, 2020

So… a week has passed in my journey of GSoC. But the excitement is still the same and I have learnt A LOT this week and we have not yet even started coding!

Week #1 started with continuous discussions with the project mentors on fine-tuning the project plan as well as my milestones. I was also designing the user interfaces for both web and mobile applications and getting feedback from the mentors on the designs. Several iterations later we were able to come up with some good designs (as I think) for the UIs of the project Dengue-Stop which you can get a sneak-peek below.

Dengue-Stop Home Screen

I also specified working hours to each task so that I will meet the expected workflow by the GSoC program and I don’t run into any surprises! If you’re interested, revised UI designs and project plan can be found here. Since this is officially the community bonding period of GSoC I took this time to get acquainted with the fellow GSoCers and made some new friends!

As the coding period starts at the beginning of June, I also took this time to polish my knowledge on React and Flutter so I’m ready for any challenge! I also found this awesome tutorial series for Flutter by The Net Ninja on YouTube which refreshed my knowledge from the basics. Learning on Flask was also an enjoyable experience as I was more of a Node.js guy and never came across Flask (until this week!).

Looking into best practices on Flutter, React and Flask was also a part of this weeks’ curriculum, as it is always better and recommended to follow best practices in coding (even though most of the time we don’t!). Especially, I find best practices important as I’m developing a community project which will soon be developed and collaborated by many. There’s no place for Spaghetti code in opensource!

So… this is my brief article on how I spent my week #1 being a GSoCer and many more articles are to come by! So stay tuned. Stay safe. See you next week!

--

--