Journey into GSoC — Part 3

Omal Vindula
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readJun 3, 2020

Time flies by and I’m already done with my 3rd week as a GSoCer. It’s still exciting as day one! This week was more about brushing up my knowledge on all things opensource as well as the technology stack I'm using.

I had brief discussions with my mentors regarding the database structure of the application and most of my time was spent on making the ER diagram and getting it right. I want to get it right the first time as I don't want to run into trouble halfway through to the development. We discussed which tables to use, which data attributes to keep and the overall data flow of the application and after many revisions, I was able to come up with a satisfactory ER diagram with the help of my mentors, which you can see below.

ER Diagram for Dengue Stop

I was also resolving some merge conflicts that I had from my previous PRs in different SCoRe projects as I was contributing to those projects before the GSoC period. Most of them were minor fixes and I was able to complete it quickly so that my fellow GSoCers could continue with their work without interruption.

I was also learning about flask and created a basic flask server and “fiddled around” to see how everything works… It was fun!

This week marks the end of the community bonding period which I was able to get acquainted with lot of people and made new friends! Now the coding period begins and I’m excited to apply everything I learned to create a product that’s gonna help a lot of people! Hopefully, I’ll be able to make this project a success!

That’s it for this week. See you guys in the next week. Stay safe and cheers!

--

--