Journey into GSoC — Part 8

Omal Vindula
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readAug 13, 2020

This week is a brand new milestone. I have almost completed the community mobile app (with a few features remaining) and now I’m ready to start on the admin panel which is based on ReactJS and the same Flask backend that I’ve used for the mobile app.

This week was mainly setting up the admin panel project and adding some initial configuration to ensure that it was playing nicely with my existing Flask backend. This included adding some abstract services to communicate with my backend where I utilized the infamous Axios HTTP library.

Admin Panel Dashboard Progress Till Now.

For a start, I added the functionality to view and respond to the incidents that are being reported by the community app. By respond I mean, the ability to verify or decline the incidents reported so that admin using the admin panel can ensure that only the verified reports are taken into consideration. As seen above, I have also separated the dashboard into several sections based on what I have planned to implement in the future.

To help them out to decide whether a reported incident was valid or not, I have also included functionality to view a detailed description of the incidents reported and so that admins can take an informed decision based on those additional details. All those details shown below are extracted from an incident that is being reported by the community.

Detailed View of a Reported Incident

That’s my update for this week. Next week I will be implementing the rest of the dashboard which also comes with a really neat heat map showing the reported incidents in real-time. Until then, stay safe and cheers!

--

--