Journey into GSoC — The final bits.

Omal Vindula
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readAug 26, 2020

The last couple of weeks of GSoC is happening now and I have learnt a LOT of stuff and it has been one hell of a journey! I can be truly proud of the work I have done and the things that I have achieved within this short period of 3 months.

I was able to finish almost all of the work that was planned beforehand (and a little bit more extra!). The reason why I say almost is not that I haven’t completed any milestones (trust me, I have completed!), but there’s still room for improvement. Such as the UI/UX improvements and deploying the application to the cloud. So I will keep contributing and improving this platform even after GSoC, as there are many refinements to be made.

Data visualization in dengue stop admin panel

Anyway, the last couple of weeks consisted of me implementing the events component and plugging it with the mobile application to work in synergy. The end result was quite satisfactory where the admins are able to schedule events which are focussed on countering dengue (or any other disease) and list events from all the organizations and their details.

Event Screen with Expanded View in the Admin Panel

The published events will be visible in the dengue community application as follows.

Updated Event Screen in the Community App

To sum it all up, I have created a demo video (as seen below) which shows all the work I’ve done within the GSoC time period and how dengue stop turned out at last. But, it is not the end! as I will keep on contributing to improve this platform even further. Since it is open-source, anyone can contribute and is welcome to do so.

This will be my last update for GSoC 2020. I thank all the mentors of the project for being with me and helping me out, Google and SCoRe Lab for giving me this wonderful opportunity and everyone who helped me to make this project a success. That’s all folks! Stay safe and peace!

--

--