Journey to Google Summer of Code 2021

Swapnal Shahil
SCoRe Lab

--

<GSoC>{SCoReLab}</GSoC>

I remember the day when I asked my friend about GSoC while having regular tea in the Dihing canteen. It was very random!! And yes, from here, my journey begins. I then attended GSoC introductory session by our coding club at IIT Guwahati, which motivated me a lot in my first year of B.Tech (2019).

I then started to learn git and GitHub, which is the basic thing an open-source contributor should know.

Selecting Organization

From the start, I have been in Web Development and always try to explore even more here. So I made a google sheet that contains the organization's list, number of times the organization got selected, number of selected students in that organization, technology used, and my priority to that project. After researching a lot, I selected only organization @scorelab , and introduced myself to the community.

Google Summer of Code: SCoRe Lab

I am really grateful to the community for their proper guidance and support, which helps me to select the project. I started contributing to this project by solving minor bugs discussing with mentors in December 2020. This helped me to understand the project in a better way.

On March 10, 2021, SCoRe Lab was selected as an organization, and the idealist was live on the portal in which “Open MF” was mentioned as a possible project. I then started to write the proposal and submitted a draft proposal by the end of March. After lots of modifications, I submitted my final proposal on April 12, 2021, and was happy that I tried!!

✌ May 17, 2021 11:22 PM

On May 17, 2021, around 11 PM, I was refreshing my Gmail even more than 50 to 60 times just to know if my proposal got selected or not. And at 11:22 PM, I got a mail from the GSoC team.

GSoC 2021: Congratulations, your proposal with SCoRe Lab has been accepted!

I feel really blessed as I did in one go.

Community Bonding Period

According to the official GSoC timeline, the Community Bonding period will last till 7 June after that coding period will begin. Till then, we will finalize workflow, timeline and set some milestones, discussing with mentors.

Well, that's it for now! Thank you for reading :)

I will keep posting about this project and how everything is going here. Till then, stay safe and healthy.

Project: SCoRe Lab Open MF

Proposal: Github (will be regularly updating this summer)

--

--

Swapnal Shahil
SCoRe Lab

GSoC’22 Mentor || GSoC’21 @SCoReLab || B.Tech at IIT Guwahati'23