My GSOC Experience With SCoRe Lab #5

Piyumal Kularathna
SCoRe Lab
Published in
3 min readJul 26, 2021

--

GSoC’21: THE SECOND CHAPTER

As the topic says, the second chapter has begun. I was very excited about this chapter. There were endless possibilities in my head about my next task. I knew mentors would inform me soon.

So as I thought, they informed me to implement an App Bar with login, logout and some menus. My first thought was like, “Ok, It is easy.”

But it didn’t disappoint me because the first thing I had to do was design UIs using Figma.

So talking about Figma, I actually had a lot of experience in Figma, but I didn’t have to use it in the GSOC. So, it was a win-win situation for me. I got to do a new UI designing in GSOC, and Figma is not a new tool that I had to learn.

So, I contacted the mentor, and he informed me about what he had been expecting from this design. So I design and share the group with my mentor.

Obviously, he asked me to add changes to some sections. It’s is common in UI designing. We need a UI to give actual feedback. So I changed them.

So I started implementing the App Bar. It was not as simple as it sounds. I had to add a profile picture icon with the profile menu and develop the App Bar for both logged in and logged out situations.

The interesting thing that happened was, I developed a drawer, but that was because of some miscommunication between my mentor and me. Actually, what he really expected was much easier.

So I changed and implemented the code as he exactly requested. I rapidly communicate with the mentor to show the current progress and get feedback from him before sending the final pull request.

I had to learn more about the DOM because of a problem I faced during the coding process.

So the most interesting thing about this component is that I had to consider the responsive view to the exact point as this is a significantly important component for the project.

I actually improved my CSS knowledge in a few weeks, and I’m starting to love CSS. It’s a good thing as I am a developer who likes front end development so much.

After completing the tasks, I send the PR today. As soon as it gets approved, I will start my next task.

“Don’t be busy! Be productive!”

So I’m planning to give my best to this project because they gave me this great opportunity, and I owe it to them.

--

--