My GSOC Experience With SCoRe Lab #8

Piyumal Kularathna
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readAug 19, 2021

--

ALL GOOD THINGS MUST COME TO AN END

There is a famous saying “All good things must come to an end”

Even though I personally loved this few weeks, I always knew it will end someday. My objective was to end this successfully.

So I’m at the final phase. I have finished all my assigned tasks. All the code was merged. Project is already hosted in the its domain.

In the meantime, I was contacted by the mentor and he asked to test some login functions as there can be a problem. He already got an email to verify whether the functions are working properly or not.

So without wasting anytime, I got back to test the project. I decided to double check all the components to make sure the project is working just fine.

After checking that, I confirmed to the mentor that project is working just fine. And suddenly it occurs to me that the project is completed.

Now we are at the evaluation phase. So let me give a brief idea about my experience.

First of all, SCoRe Lab is a great place to work as their mentors are very supportive. We can learn a lot by their reviews too.

Second, GSOC is a great place to start your open source journey. I will keep working on open source projects in my future thanks to this motivation.

In this period, I adapted to material UI and actually learn a lot to develop user interfaces. I had to work with Firebase Rules, Firestore which is also great. I will never forget the trouble I went to build image crop without AntD because I was used to use that. I was able to implement number of components in the period which was also great.

I learnt to design user interfaces using Figma too as mentors asked those designs before we start implementing user interfaces. That method is so efficient as after getting the approval, we do not have to change the code again and again.

In overall, this was an epic journey and I am recommending any developer to try next year GSOC. You will not regret this.

“Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.” -Harriet Tubman

Never forget that!

--

--