My GSoC 2022 journey with SCoRe Lab

Ravindu Hirimuthugoda
SCoRe Lab
Published in
3 min readSep 11, 2022

Google Summer of Code (GSoC) is the world famous open source software development program. I heard about GSoC in the first year of my university life. So I had a yearning to participate in GSoC and I spent some time with open source collaborations and projects. First step of participating in the GSoC is selecting an organization. So I selected Scorelab as my organization because there were many projects which suited my skills. Everyone can visit the organization page and view their past projects and then can select the organization that you wish to contribute to.

Communication is the key factor to participate in the GSoC. So I have been communicating with the Scorelab organization using the gitter channel for a long time. I checked their GSoC 2022 project list and selected interesting projects for me and asked questions about these projects with mentors. Mentors in Scorelab are really helpful and they helped me a lot to set up and run the projects. With the time I was familiar with the code base of the projects and opened some new issues and PRs. GSoC has announced the contributor application period. I have been interested in the Webiu project and worked on the Webiu project. So I created a final project proposal for the Webiu project with the help of mentors and I submitted my project proposal. Then on 20th of May 2022 GSoC had announced the accepted contributor projects. I was really happy because my name was also on the accepted projects list.

Then the communication bonding period started from 20th May to 12th June. I got more familiar with my mentors and we had a session to discuss the project goals and deliverables. In this time period I started working on the templates for different themes in the Webiu project. I developed prototypes using the Figma tool and shared with mentors. They pointed out some facts to improve my prototypes. This time period flew very fast and however I managed the time for finalizing my prototypes.

Then the coding phase started on the 13th of July. So I started to develop the first theme. I used Gatsby js, React js, MUI, Storybook js as primary programming languages. I developed new components and created PRs and they were reviewed by my mentor. I developed themes one by one and created PRs for them. I completed two themes before the mid evaluation which was held on 25–29th of July. After that I gradually developed my other three themes before the 5th of September. This week, 5th — 12th September we face the final evaluation.

So this is the last week of my GSoC journey in 2022. I have learned new technologies, frameworks from the GSoC program. I should be thankful to the Scorelab organization for giving me this valuable opportunity. And also I should be thankful to my mentors. They helped me a lot, encouraged me throughout the GSoC journey. Finally I have spent a wonderful 12 week of internship program successfully and gained and improved myself a lot from GSoC.

Thank you!!

--

--

Ravindu Hirimuthugoda
SCoRe Lab

Undergraduate at Department of Computer Science & Engineering at University of Moratuwa