My GSoC ’21 Journey: Week 6

Amlan Kumar Nandy
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readJul 18, 2021

Last week, I managed to complete all the milestones that I had planned for this summer, including testing and documentation. With another 5 weeks left in the program, I had to look for new things I could do to further improve the project that I’m working on.

If you’re new to my blogs, check out the previous ones to better understand what I’m doing.

Introductory Blog

Week 1: Migrating to Flutter 2.0 and implementing backend service selection

Week 2: Implementing project activity tracking

Week 3: Improving team management

Week 4: Building a team-wise chat system

Week 5: Documentation and testing

Passing the 1st evaluations with flying colors

Starting with good news, my GSoC journey is now halfway done! This means it’s time for the first evaluations! Having completed all my milestones on time, I, of course, passed them with ease. The evaluations consisted of a survey that had to be filled by both the student as well as the mentor, consisting of questions regarding general GSoC experience, progress on the project, etc.

Planning Work on the Web App

My work this summer was supposed to the limited to the backend and mobile sections of the project only. But other than that, LabelLab also has a web application made using React.js. After discussions with my mentor, we decided that it’s best if I spend the remaining duration of this program bringing the web app up-to-date with the mobile application, which includes:

  • Improving team management
  • Implementing a project activity tracking system
  • Creating team-wise chat functionality
  • Updating documentation

The first step here was to go through the existing codebase and get acquainted with it. As the project uses class-based components rather than functional, it was slightly tough getting used to it. But by the end of the week, I managed to understand it enough to start implementation of the planned features.

Signing Off

With this week’s work involving planning only, there’s no PR to show here! But as I get my hands dirty with the JavaScript next week, I hope to have something to show you!

Hope you give next week’s blog a read too. Until then, stay safe, and may the source be with you! :)

--

--

Amlan Kumar Nandy
SCoRe Lab

Software Engineer at Clumio, a SaaS-based startup focusing on Data Security for the Cloud. Love exploring new tech and collaborating with passionate people! :)