Working on installer.to with SCoRe Lab for GSoC 2020

Heshan Geasman
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readMay 10, 2020

I am a student at Eynesbury College doing a diploma in engineering to do my undergraduate program in Electrical and Mechatronics at the University of South Australia. This year I’m working with SCoRe Lab for Google Summer of Code 2020.

I got to know about SCoRe Lab and GSoC from a friend and I liked the idea a lot. I’m new to open-source and had no idea about it before. Now I am going to work on a open-source project and I’m getting a mentor to help me on this.

I’m new to programming but uses bash and shell scripts in my day to day work. I’m fancy of these things I can do with writing small bash scripts and aliases. I was looking for a project that suites my knowledge and came across installer.to project.

It’s a simpler way to install tool on Linux based machines, simply by using cURL and bash. Following command will install git on your machine.

curl https://installer.to/git | bash

It’s actually a collection of scripts which has installations steps for different package managers or different similar methods. If you are familiar with Docker installer which works like follows, you might find this uses the same method with other tools.

curl https://get.docker.com/ | bash

Now this way, all these kinda scripts will come under one repo and tools which does not have any such methods will start to get installation scripts like these.

Week 0

In the first phase I’m planning to get thorough with the script that are currently there and the Firebase Function which serves these scripts.

I am looking for CLI based testing frameworks to test all these installation scripts. I already tried out several such tools like Godog, ShellSpec, Bats, etc.

I will be evaluating these frameworks and come up with a comparison where I can discuss with my mentors on it and finalize which one to use.

I will also be looking into GitHub Actions for automating the installer script publishing to Firebase Storage which each PR merge.

--

--