The search for meaning.

Scott Bidmead
Scott Bidmead
Published in
2 min readJun 5, 2018

“Man’s main concern is not to gain pleasure or to avoid pain but rather to see a meaning in his life,” Victor Frankl.

I don’t speak French and wish I did. I once sat through an hour and a half presentation in French, smiling and nodding away like an idiot. Why I did this you ask? I was in Paris at the time and decided I wanted to do some volunteer work.

Credit Authentic Happiness.

The M in PERMA is there for good reason. Science shows that having a sense of meaning in your life and giving back, can do wonders for your wellbeing. There is a clear understanding that eudomonic wellbeing is an important part of ‘the good life’ puzzle.

Credit Pexels.

The UN promotes volunteering as a great way to increase a sense of meaning and boost wellbeing. As this peer reviewed paper explained, by participating in selfless work, people are able to build a sense of purpose and the belief that they are helping a greater good. It went on to explain that “cohort studies showed volunteering had favourable effects on depression, life satisfaction and wellbeing”. In addition, the increase of social interaction that can stem from most volunteer work is also shown to have significant positive benefits. So, if you aren't volunteering in some capacity already, give it a go!

Credit Pexels.

Having a purpose or driving force can really help you stay motivated, engaged and can give your life direction. Volunteering is just one way you can add meaning and purpose to your life. What are you passionate about? What inspires or engages you? Put some thought into identifying what things you are passionate about through a eudomonic lens and set some goals around it.

Going back to my French experience… safe to say, I sat through the entire presentation. Afterwards, the coordinator (who knew all along I spoke no French) informed me that there were in fact no positions available after all… Looking back, I think this shows just how important the search for meaning meant to me.

Lets hope you have a bit more luck getting started on your search. Trust me, it’s worth it in the end.

--

--