The gift of freedom

Scott Hiney
Scott M. Hiney
Published in
3 min readOct 11, 2016

--

Freedom is one of the first words associated with America. We talk about in our country, each individual has the ability to pursue his or her dreams and goals without being subject to a limiting and oppressive government like many other places in the world.

As much as I’m thankful for the freedom I receive in America, none will ever compare to the freedom I face from sin.

With the cross came our freedom. It is through Jesus’ blood that we have received forgiveness for our sins and no more face condemnation. This must be the greatest news we could ever receive — eternal forgiveness.

Therefore there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has set you free from the law of sin and of death. Romans 8:1–2

I love the phrasing “there is now no.”

As a child, I’m not sure if there was a more comforting time in my life than my parents coming into my room to hold me and dry my tears after having a nightmare. The idea of being held tight and being reassured that everything is okay and that I’m now safe.

That’s what Christ has done for us. He’s taken us in, He’s thrown away the sin and troubles in our life and has joined us with Him through His death. Now, we’re tasked with living a changed life.

It is no longer acceptable to go about our sinful ways as if we weren’t pardoned, but that we must live a life that glorifies His ultimate sacrifice. We can do this by turning from sin and towards God, keeping His word close to our hearts and spreading the gospel, or good news, of salvation through His death on the cross.

I hope that the idea of being free from condemnation both blesses you and humbles you. Yes, it’s a wonderful thing to be pardoned, but that’s just the half of it. We cannot get stagnant as Christians merely living a life that only proclaims we are free. We are of course, but we also are tasked in the great commission to use our freedom to further His kingdom through action.

And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” Matthew 28: 18–20

Listen to what Jesus says to his disciples in Matthew 28 and understand that He’s speaking to us as well.

Let this be your motivation today and everyday as you rejoice in the freedom Christ has given you.

--

--

Scott Hiney
Scott M. Hiney

You might know me from what you sit on. Creatively-minded, digitally-driven.