WDD: Inktober

Scout
Scout Design
Published in
3 min readOct 28, 2021

It’s time for your Weekly Dose of Design, curated for you, with 💙 from Scout.

Meet Elaine Zhang!

Hi, my name is Elaine and I’m a 4th year Interaction Design major. This is my second semester on Scout- I was part of Studio last semester and now am a designer on Conference! I’m excited to finally get to be part of this community in-person, and can’t wait for you all to see the cool things we’ve been working on.

Although I love design and digital work, I definitely wish I had more time to do traditional art. For the past few years, without fail, I’d find myself opening up Instagram at the end of September and making a resolution. This will be the year I complete Inktober.

And every year, without fail, that burst of inspiration would completely dissolve after a week at most. Needless to say, I have an incredible amount of respect for anyone able to do Inktober to any form of completion. Below are some of my favorite creations from this year’s challenge!

Maybe 2022 will be my year.

Adrian Iorga (@adiorga)

Hello typography nerds, do I have the account for you! Romanian designer Adrian Iorga’s type-centered Inktober is one of the most visually satisfying things I’ve seen in a while. The hand-drawn typography is almost impossibly clean, and I’m always surprised by the clever ways he implements the prompt into the letters. This is Iorga’s 3rd typography focused Inktober, so I highly suggest checking out his work in past years as well!

Izzy Burton (@izzyburtonart)

While I personally enjoy having prompts to help guide me for Inktober, some people take some more creative freedom with this month as a challenge to draw everyday. One such artist that really caught my attention was Izzy Burton, a lead background artist at Netflix. Using #IzzyMinTober, she created an illustrated story about a fox named Min, making one page each day. The beautiful ink drawings, minimal yet impactful text, and use of white space just make me feel so cozy- it’s like looking at an old children’s book.

Tyler Pate (@thecreativepain)

I know, I know- I talked a lot about wanting to do more traditional work. However, can you blame me for wanting to talk about Tyler Pate’s work? His take on Inktober takes the shape of “retro newspaper-ad” and is created on Adobe Illustrator. I love his choice and combination of typefaces, use of halftone textures, and the spooky but fun tone which is perfect for October. Also, the fact that these are all done within an hour? Wild.

These are only 3 examples of all the different forms that Inktober can take, so I hope you found some inspiration! If you’re not tired of hearing from me, you can find me @cupnewdles on Instagram, where I attempt to post design stuff at least a few times a year

Thanks for reading!

--

--