Fatima Arif
Scribblings
Published in
2 min readFeb 10, 2019

--

Frost/Nixon

After giving two papers of the final exams for the fall semester of my sophomore year, I decided to have a small break before preparing for my last exam which is to take place on 12th Feb. 2009. So yesterday when I entered the heaven of my room I grabbed the first movie on the stack of yet-to-be seen ones & it turned out be Frost/Nixon. For me the movie was relaxing & thought provoking at the same time. It was an unexplained feeling to see the President of the United States of America admitting his wrong doings. Don’t know if ever any of us would ever be able to see another President or Prime Minister follow Nixon’s footsteps.Another thing that really touched me was this one single line said by Frost that attacking Cambodia changed once a moderated nation into rebels & people full of anti-American sentiments. My take on this is that this simple line sums it all up for what’s going on at the present moment. By bombing innocent civilians in the name of a targeting a few radicals the establishment is breeding more & more of these radicals. Focusing just on Pakistan what’s happening in our tribal areas will change the basic ideology in which we believe. No matter how much the world invests in this war on terror its only going to increase the terror & make it more horrifying.

And this breeding needs to stop.

Originally published on February 11, 2009.

--

--

Fatima Arif
Scribblings

Marketer turned digital media jedi | Storyteller | Development sector | Former lead writer My Voice Unheard