Fatima Arif
Scribblings
Published in
3 min readFeb 10, 2019

--

Lions For Lambs

Lions for Lambs begins after two determined students at a West Coast University follow the inspiration of their idealistic professor & attempt to do something important with their lives. But when the two make the bold decision to join the battle in Afghanistan, the professor is both moved & distraught. Now as they fight for survival in the field, they become the string that binds together two disparate stories on opposite sides of America. On one end the professor attempts to reach a privileged but disaffected student & on the other end a Presidential hopeful is about to give a bombshell story to a probing TV journalist.This is the outline of the movie; however the actual reason is not to tell other about its outline on my blog. After watching the movie & likening it I was marveling the openness of Hollywood. The same evening, while my facebooking session I came across the fan page of the movie & to my surprise there were only 18 fans. Well everyone has their own opinion & I am in no mood to list the number of fans for the film but I would certainly counter & comment on the people who created & are part of the anti-lions for lambs group.The reason behind is that the basic point of most of them is that the film is a propaganda against the war on terror. I mean WTF. In the start the whole world got really charged up in favor of this war on terror but I guess now its high time that we stop playing in the hands of the establishment. Our history so far has proved it that the people in general are a no match for these high up no matter what they do. Our system has been eaten up by the spider, but I guess we can stop endorsing this concept of the war for the greater good.I don’t approve the ideologies of the extremist AT ALL. My point of concern is the new breed that they are infiltrating by spreading their ideologies more effectively than the people of moderate views & well lets just keep the governments out of it, they are all crap & we have seen that it does not really matter if the person in power has a humble background & not a well fed business tycoon family or feudal. The problem lies with the system which will go to any length to save themselves from embarrassment.As I said before its no use dreaming that I day a hero will rise up & get this mess straight. This idea is all too lame & out of our circle of influence. The grass roots need to be fixed first so that we just don’t keep on blaming the system for destroying the good men in it.

By the way WHO THE HELL created this complicated WEB that the whole world can’t penetrate through????? Here I just got lost similarly the way, Professor in the movie lost the privileged student…

Originally published on February 27, 2009.

--

--

Fatima Arif
Scribblings

Marketer turned digital media jedi | Storyteller | Development sector | Former lead writer My Voice Unheard