Sophrology 101: Short exercises to improve your physical and mental well-being at work

Agathe Costes
Scribbroo
Published in
4 min readJan 7, 2021

Personally, working alone in front of a screen is something that I find really enjoyable. However, many of my acquaintances pity me. It is often difficult for me to make them understand that I really enjoy this kind of work. Einstein says it is easier to smash an atom than a prejudice. According to this wisdom, I attempt to explain my perspective — but if the listener does not seem convinced, then I avoid launching into a tirade.

Nonetheless, I must admit that working several hours per day, sitting without moving, my eyes riveted to the screen, is not the healthiest behaviour. My body is not active enough, whereas my eyes are too much. Besides, we, as editors working from home, do not have a colleague to divert our attention from the screen, except perhaps those of us who have a cat, or a roommate still wearing their pyjamas at 4pm and asking for beer and cigarettes.

Therefore, it is essential to plan pauses. These can vary between 5 and 20 minutes, depending on the length of your working session. Despite the temptation, it is important that you avoid staring at your screen during these pauses. This article focuses on one of the healthiest and most efficient ways to fill your time during a break: sophrology.

Photo by Emma Simpson on Unsplash
Photo by Emma Simpson on Unsplash

What is sophrology?

Sophrology is a method that offers a range of techniques to improve our serenity and physical and mental well-being. These techniques can consist of breathing exercises, muscle relaxation or visualisation. As a former sportswoman (table tennis: yes, that’s a sport), I had already practised visualisation as a way to imagine positive outcomes during competitive tournaments. Nevertheless, it is only since I have become a mother that I have started to fully measure the stunning benefits of daily breathing and relaxation exercises on my body and, I must say, on my mood. With this in mind, I suggest that you combine business with pleasure by practising these exercises during your pauses at work: they will relax you, rest your eyes and, above all, help you to reach the high level of concentration required for editing several thousands of words.

Below, I use examples of exercises introduced by Clémence Peix Lavallée, a French sophrologist, practitioner, trainer, speaker and author of numerous books — in short, an expert on this subject.

Cardiac coherence

First, here is my favourite exercise: cardiac coherence. It is amazingly simple. It takes between 3 to 5 minutes, and I saw spectacular results within just a few weeks. Although some recommend to practising it seated, I prefer to lie down. When you’re ready, breathe in through your nose for 5 seconds, and then breathe out through your mouth for 5 seconds. Note that this exercise requires diaphragmatic breathing, which involves inflating your stomach while inhaling and deflating it while exhaling.

Ha respiration

After, I opt for the Ha respiration technique to put me in a more relaxed mood. This exercise also lasts from 3 to 5 minutes. You can stand or sit, with your chest out and leaning forward, keeping your head and body straight. While breathing in through your nose, focus on positive thoughts, such as beauty, goodness, and the marvellous. Then, hold your breath for 3 to 4 seconds and exhale saying “haaaa” to let go of all your physical and psychological tensions. Hold your breath again for 3 to 4 seconds, and then repeat this cycle three times. The four-part breathing process will prevent you from hyperventilating.

Autogenic training

Finally, if you wish to have a longer break, I suggest this 10- to 20-minute exercise called autogenic training. Like many of you, I work from home alone, which means I can easily lie down to do this exercise without any colleagues questioning what I am up to. Otherwise, you may also do it sitting and finish by stretching out your arms and legs, just like when you wake up. This exercise consists of seven phases, during which you mentally repeat sentences three times, like mantras.

Exercices for autogenic training

Sentences to repeat

  1. Relaxation exercise

I am calm. Nothing can bother me. I feel at peace.

2. Heaviness exercise

My arm is heavy. My leg is heavy. My arms and legs are heavy. My whole body is heavy.

3. Warmth exercise

My arm is warm. My leg is warm. My arms and legs are warm. My whole body is warm.

4. Regulating the autonomous nervous system

My solar plexus is warm.

5. Feeling your heartbeats

My heart beats slowly and regularly.

6. Checking your breathing

My breathing is perfectly calm. I am breathing within.

7. Cranial regulation

My forehead is nicely cool. My head is clear and free.

You now have a few easy-to-implement sophrology exercises to optimise your concentration and improve your overall well-being. Like any practice, these exercises will only be useful to you if you perform them regularly.

The duration of these exercises is well-suited to the Pomodoro technique, a time management method known to most editors. For those of you who are not familiar with it, this method breaks down work into 25-minute intervals separated by breaks. If you are already using the Pomodoro technique or are planning to give it a try, then try slotting these quick and effective sophrology exercises into your scheduled breaks!

Are you ready to start 2021 with a clear and focused mind? Try these tips for a week in January and let us know what you feel!

--

--