Aminoacids Made of Words

Annabel Schoen
Scribe
Published in
2 min readAug 16, 2024
Photo by Sangharsh Lohakare on Unsplash

I was ignorant of the power of words when sequenced in a specific order.

The genetic code, it works in the currency of bases, specific triplets code for specific aminoacids. The latter a sentence in the realm of words. The protein a paragraph, the proteome a whole story. The code of life is degenerate. Just as there are many different ways to puzzle together words in a similarly dazzling way.

The impact of words on our emotions is unique to the human species. Our minds creative and complex enough, allow words to break the boundaries of imagination. As they shatter expectations and make us rethink our judgements, they take on the shape of elucidation. Words, they can capture moments that would fade otherwise. Describe emotions so complex I myself cannot grasp them. They are to my mind what unmoulded clay is to my hands.

Universal, not to all as in the genetic code, but universal to our species.

However, only in the currency of words, combinations to form the aminoacids of language are not confined to sixty-four. There are as many as there are copses in a forest. Bacteria in the soil. Stars in the sky. Molecules in the air. Even just this paragraph, it makes me smirk as I sequence its triplets.

That is the power of words.

I was ignorant until I tried myself.

--

--

Annabel Schoen
Scribe
Writer for

I love to paint the world with words — so I write. Student @Minerva University, living around the globe.