Poetry

Cash Register Sings the Blues

Maria Nazos
Scribe

--

Photo by Shangyou Shi on Unsplash

This isn’t my dream job. As a young sheet
of steel and plastic, I dreamt of being melted

down into a dancer’s pole in Vegas. I wanted
a woman in a headdress glossy as a gossamer

to wrap her lithe limbs around me. I wanted
to be strewn in lights, smell her powdery perfume.

Instead, I’m a squat box crouched behind the counter,
noticed only if someone robs me. I’m touched all day,

but never caressed. Listen: somewhere, gold tokens
spew from slots. I want to drink space-alien-dyed martinis on black

leather sectional couches. Watch tipsy women with acid-
washed jeans and teased hair dreamily press their faces

against slot machines while people treat currency
carelessly as spit in the wind.

I’m everywhere you look, ubiquitous and ignored.
I’m the container of your dreams that tossed aside my own.

I’ve kept my clean, sleek lines, but you never say a thing.
Feed me, feed me with the only love we know.

Originally published in American Life in Poetry and The Poetry Foundation.

--

--

Maria Nazos
Scribe
Writer for

#Poet, #translator, & author of PULSE (Omnidawn 2026). Poem in NYER. Substack: https://marianazos.substack.com/