Dilemma

Ayah Choukri
Scribe
Published in
1 min readSep 2, 2020
Photo by Eduard Delputte on Unsplash

Useless thoughts crossing my head
A need for quiet, a need for peace
A need for space; He, who can release
His servants from the guilt ahead
That holds them prisoners! may You come
And cast me off my cobblestone
Before You, I would be mind-blown
As your light heals hearts, said some.
Mine cries while my eyes bleed
As the general shouts “follow my lead”!
My mercy is rotten to the core
I’m the scorching wood to the fire of war.
It is indeed tough to express one’s pain
And even harder to write it down
But I hope tomorrow, as the Dawn
Defeats the glum, I will remain sane.
I feel safe in your arms, my Lord
Hold me tight; your clinch is a blessing
Don’t ever let me down, my Lord
For the white dove has yet to sing
Would you teach me how to train
A restless soul to come upon relief?
Should I turn over a new leaf?
Should I just get on the first train?
No. The mind works like a roller coaster
Thoughts are frail and ephemeral
In this present, may hero be my role,
May the hereafter be my oyster.

--

--

Ayah Choukri
Scribe
Writer for

A young writer, with a consuming passion for languages and a strong appetite for knowledge. I chase down humanity through my work and attitude.