Do Birds Sing in Wartime?

Today, I also want to think about them

Thomas Gaudex
Scribe

--

Photo by Atul Vinayak on Unsplash

And the birds, how do they live the war? Do they still sing under the deluge of fire? Where do they take refuge to spend the night away from the noise of the bombings? How do they find water and food in a landscape devastated by the rain of rockets and missiles?

Do they know the stress and fear of dying? How do they cope with the loss of their offspring or life partner? What about the loss of their habitat? What do they do when the trees are burning under enemy fire and they can no longer cling to the branches with their little legs to see the world from above? How do they deal with the sirens announcing a new offensive that breaks up their usual routine? What do they think of the tank parade?

Today I want to think about them. I cannot imagine a world without birds and chirping. The sky cannot be without their beating wings and their heart-warming songs. It should never again be the playground of men who kill each other, but only the paradise of birds, painters, writers, and dreamers. The theater of beauty and inseparable lovers.

So how are you today, little vertebrates? What can I do for you? How can I help you? How can I ensure that the sun’s rays will once again caress your feathers? How can you stop your eyes and your beak from witnessing the madness of men? With all my heart, I hope your songs will never cease and that you will regain possession of the earth and the sky.

--

--

Thomas Gaudex
Scribe

Writer | Poet | Editor of Scribe | Literature and Nature help me breathe | thomasgaudex.co