Don’t Cry for Me…

J.D. Rush
Scribe
Published in
1 min readMar 26, 2021
Photo by Slavcho Malezanov on Unsplash

Don’t cry for me…
When I grow cold
Forget my age, my soul was old
Born with bread, I saw the world
I never starved, I loved a girl
Don’t cry for me
Cry for those you cannot feed

Don’t howl for me…
When I am gone
I slept on roses and bloomed at dawn
I had my health, I had a home
I never shivered, all alone
Don’t howl for me
Howl for those in wretched need

Don’t bawl for me…
When eyes roll back
I lived in plenty, I never lacked
Stuffed with spirit, full of heart
I watched in wonder from the start
Don’t bawl for me
Bawl for those who cannot see

Don’t sob for me…
I walked with ease
I marched all over, where I pleased
Never trapped or held in check
No guns were pointed, no knife to neck
Don’t sob for me
Sob for those who are not free

Don’t weep for me…
I’m in soft hands
I’ll see old friends and love new lands
Brush your tears and dry your lashes
Pat the dirt or spread my ashes
Don’t weep for me
Weep for those who cannot read

© 2021 by J.D. Rush

--

--

J.D. Rush
Scribe
Writer for

Fiction and poetry writer living in the San Francisco Bay Area.