Free to Believe

Helena Toto
Scribe
Published in
1 min readDec 19, 2020

--

Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

I wish to be free
To believe what I want
And not be judged
Or damned
Or sentenced

To be told my future is
Now different than yours
Bleaker, that it will end in
destruction
Is puzzling

Because you don’t know me
You knew my mask of projection
And you assumed I was like you
Damaged
Gullible

And I was,
For a while
But I saw the colors change
I took note of the shadows
And I felt the shifting in my bones
From one truth to the next

Until the sacred became silly
And my choices danced before me
Like rain
Sin dissolved into puddles
I could play in

Manipulation’s talons
No longer made me bleed
I grew tall underneath your cowardice
Taller than you remembered

So, when you saw me
You didn’t believe
In my new happiness
You tried to slay the
Dragon I had become

But I no longer answer to you
Or your God
I believe what I
Am is enough.

To be free
And whole
And happy
Is enough.

--

--

Helena Toto
Scribe

Health Coach, Poet, and Empath striving to live each day in conscious awareness.