From Home to the Horizon

A Poem

Brian Sansom
Scribe
Oct 30, 2020

--

Photo: Johannes Plenio/Unsplash/CC BY-SA 4.0

I steal the threads of destined fate
Entwined with souls in silvered light
My Master’s hands are careless, late
Yet mine are nimble, true, and sleight

I weave a cloth of purest form
So songs of home can bring me through
The fractured skies and gales that swarm
My vessel sailing to the new

I left my harbor, friends, and kin
To seize the treasures beyond reach
Cold ocean spray may sting my skin
But, there are lessons it can teach

I lived a life with love and verse
Played in the sun and braved the rain
Some moments touched me like a curse
The gentle mercies cured the pain

I have returned past many years
With scars and stories of my life
In joy and loss, my face knew tears
There can’t be triumph without strife

I strip my sails, secure the ties
The thread returned to Master’s chest
Before the hearth, I’ll close my eyes
My journey finished, I can rest

--

--

Brian Sansom
Scribe
Writer for

An attorney by trade, a writer at heart. I sincerely believe in the power of words and ideas. Hoping to make my own meaningful contribution.