How I Keep Myself Sane

All about the secret habit of reading

Daria Krauzo
Scribe

--

The first necessity is to claim the morning, which is mine. I don’t look at my phone and I don’t answer emails. I look out of the window, first of all. Then I sit down and have my coffee, the hot liquid waking up my soul. I read or write, depending on how I feel, but I celebrate the early hours just by myself.

If I read, it must be a real book. Nothing fake, nor digital. If I write, I write with a pen on paper, just to remember that I still have fingertips. I like to use a pen that runs out at some point. It reminds me that nothing lasts forever. I like to look at what I have already read and written and think about everything that is still to come. Like this new day.

Reading enables you to mediate if you are not disciplined enough to meditate otherwise.

That’s why people ask me sometimes what should they read. But a prescribed lists of book that you must read? Nah, I don’t buy it all. I am convinced it is all about the bold fact of reading wildly, whatever comes in your hands.

Most people like to do things on the fly now. You cannot read a book on the fly. How fortunate! The busyness itself does not make your life meaningful. It is your interior life that makes the difference.

--

--

Daria Krauzo
Scribe

I love books, carrots and (very) long walks. I write to make sense of being human. / www.dariakrauzo.com