I Am Here

The imperative message of bird song

Deborah Barchi
Scribe

--

(A Carolina Wren singing at sunrise) Photo by Trac Vu on Unsplash

Birds do not hesitate
as people sometimes do
to assert with pride and persistence,
self-sufficiency and intention:

I am here.

At this moment
this is my place.
And simple are my needs.
To claim my space.
To find a mate.
To raise a family
and keep them safe.

Although compared to others
I may be small and plain,
neither rarity nor beauty are required
to state my intentions without restraint.

Even a single, repetitive note
of limited beauty but bursting with life
may lift the hearts of listeners
who recognize with simple delight
this timeless proclamation:

I am here.

I often leave my bedroom window open (even if just a crack, in winter), so I can awaken to the sound of birdsong, that loveliest of morning wake up calls.

--

--

Deborah Barchi
Scribe

Deborah Barchi has recently retired from her career as a librarian and now has time to read, explore nature, and write poetry and essays.