Humor

I Just Found Out I’m in a Relationship

The end of bachelorhood sometimes comes when you least expect it

Thomas Gaudex
Scribe
Published in
3 min readNov 7, 2023

--

Until today, I thought I was single. If someone had told me one day that a simple phone call would end my life as a young lone wolf, I would have laughed and the discussion would have quickly moved on to something else. Listening to the message left on my iPhone this morning by a woman who didn’t reveal her identity, I realized that life is definitely full of surprises.

Hello, I’m calling about your tele-assistance, I need to add a fall detector to Madam, and a technician can come to your home at the end of the morning, if you can call me back on 016425…, thank you, goodbye.

This is the message I received, transcribed here verbatim. Dear loyal readers, I’m happy (and quite excited, I admit) to announce that I’m now a couple! I’m in a relationship with a woman… who apparently needs assistance in case of a fall. Has fate found me a woman who’s a little too fond of the bottle? Or a woman who has one leg shorter than the other and is therefore a bit wobbly? Or a woman of a certain age who has trouble getting around? I’m struggling to get a clear picture.

So I spent my morning tidying up my apartment, making sure nothing was lying around so Madam wouldn’t trip over…

--

--

Thomas Gaudex
Scribe

Writer | Poet | Editor of Scribe | Literature and Nature help me breathe | thomasgaudex.co