Everyday Stories #18

If I Ever Die

It won’t be tomorrow

Jonah Lightwhale
Scribe

--

Photo by Simeon Muller on Unsplash

If I ever die,
it won’t be tomorrow.

I will be very old, wise and still beautiful.
It will be during an outdoor party,
and people will murmur:
maybe he didn’t have to dance.

Those who love me will carry me in their arms,
they will rest me
sitting with my back against a tree,
one of those trees that are so beautiful
and have never harmed anyone.

My soul,
so amazed, every day,
to be able to see itself in the mirror
and to resist
in such a concrete world,
will move away from the scene a little.
In the form of a dragonfly,
or light,
or of eternal word.

It will forget the pages
torn
and those left blank.
And not dared prayers.

It will have forgiveness as a gift,
closeness to those who remain,
to walk with the saints,
a library
full of windows, of wind, of colored woods.

It will make peace, as much as possible, with the sorrow.

Se mai dovessi morire,
non sarà domani.

Sarò vecchissimo, saggio e ancora bello.
Sarà durante una festa all’aperto,
e la gente mormorerà:
forse non doveva ballare.

Mi porteranno in braccio
quelli che mi amano,
mi poggeranno
seduto con la schiena contro un albero,
uno di quegli alberi così belli
e che non hanno mai fatto del male a nessuno.

La mia anima,
così meravigliata, ogni giorno,
di potersi vedere allo specchio
e di resistere
in un mondo così concreto,
si allontanerà un poco dalla scena.
In forma di libellula,
o di luce,
o di parola eterna.

Dimenticherà le pagine
strappate
e quelle lasciate in bianco.
Le preghiere non osate.

Avrà in dono il perdono,
la vicinanza a chi resta,
di camminare con i santi,
una biblioteca
piena di finestre, di vento, di legni colorati.

Farà pace, il più possibile, con il dolore.

--

--

Jonah Lightwhale
Scribe
Writer for

I try to tell short stories from the unexpected land where I paused jonahlightwhale@gmail.com