My Closest Regret

Helena Toto
Scribe
Published in
1 min readJan 26, 2021

--

Photo by Paul Hanaoka on Unsplash

I never had the chance to try
to be a mom for you

to feel you growing inside me
to feel you surge in my belly
and kick me while I try to sleep
make friends before I see your
lovely face

feel your finger curl around mine
and your wet lips against my skin
as I nourish you
see your eyes light up as I coo
at you

feel my heart surge with love
at the sight of you
your eyes match deep earth
and your hair is the color of flame
your smile is crooked
but perfect

You are my legacy, my blood
ancestor's stories run through your veins
Druids and Irishmen
Warriors and Amazons
whispering your name into the breeze

I hear you within me
echoing in my bones
resurrected from the silence of
my quiet tears
I hear you
& I love you

but
I never had the chance

--

--

Helena Toto
Scribe

Health Coach, Poet, and Empath striving to live each day in conscious awareness.