My Language of Love

Navya Gupta
Scribe
Published in
2 min readMay 19, 2020

--

Photo by Edward Cisneros on Unsplash

Love has many languages
The flimsiest is of words
If only you could hear
the one that is most unheard.

It is when my lips are at rest
I say things words can’t express
If only you could figure
The language, deeper and bigger.

With every caress of your finger
My muscle twitches and wiggles
Or when our elbows touch by chance
And my whole body just shudders.

With every meeting of our eyes
I squint to hide my pupil size
Dilated, extra gleaming
Unlike me, it does not shy.

When you talk,
your forehead wrinkles.
That undisguised curve on my face,
Appears when you laugh
And your nose crinkles.

The more you move your fingers
The more I clench mine
When your smile is wider than the sky
I am in awe of your canines.

It is you who breathes
But my chest that pounds
You are the one who hums a song but
It is my pulse that makes a thumping sound.

My gut rumbles
As you tie our knot of love
There is a knot in my stomach too
Which I just cannot snuff.

Even when my lips are sealed
My heart has never felt more healed
So the next time you freak
Thinking I do not speak
Listen to my eyes
My face
My fingers
My gut
For it will be the purest love language
Even when my mouth is shut.

Thank you for reading! Here are a few more poems written by me. I hope you like them! Happy reading ❤

--

--

Navya Gupta
Scribe

I am a 100-year-old soul stuck in the body of a 20-something… Connect with me on Instagram - unwor_d