New Girl, New City

Shristi Jaiswal
Scribe
Published in
1 min readJun 22, 2020
Photo Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

New city
New apartment
New streets to walk by

Brick wall buildings
And concrete sidewalks
Fall leaves and pink skies
All welcoming me into
The world, I’ve been
Homesick for all my life

Pretty gold rings and books
Written By e.e Cummings
All strewn across the brown
Table, resting beside my silky
Bed sheets

New alleys and hidden stores
Trying to make the new world
As much as my own

All alone, but never once lonely
Spending the precious time
Discovering everything new
About me

Falling off skateboards in parks
To trying something new with
My style, eating at restaurants
Alone and making friends over
Drinks at bars

I hope this feeling always lasts,
The tingling sensation you get
Being a new girl in the city

--

--

Shristi Jaiswal
Scribe
Writer for

Flash fictions, Essays and Poetry// I love all things aesthetic probably to an unhealthy extent