Reclamation

Susie Gutierrez
Scribe
Published in
3 min readMay 14, 2020

--

How many of us know what it’s like to wake up one day and realize that you’re part of a machine?

That everything you’ve been taught about how to “succeed” is completely wrong?

How many of us feel that our childhood sense of wonder and play was completely squashed once we entered the school system and the workforce?

How many of us bought into the fear-filled belief of society that success only looks one way?

How many of us have completely lost touch with our creativity?

How many of us learned to sacrifice our personal desires in order to fit a predetermined idea of success?

How many of us tried our hardest throughout our lives and still were told that it wasn’t enough?

I was always chasing that sense of accomplishment that so many others seemed to have and that had eluded me.

I didn’t know I had ADHD and I didn’t know that I had sleep apnea and I didn’t know that it was possible to love yourself; there were lots of things I didn’t know.

Now I know these things and I’m grateful for them. But I didn’t realize that I have been stuck in the same pattern as before.

I still sacrifice my precious sleep at night because I never feel that I have done enough. It’s not even about pleasing society anymore…

--

--

Susie Gutierrez
Scribe

Writer. Performer. Nanny. Pet Sitter. Cackler. Empath. ADHD Brain. Everyone has a story to tell. 💛